Contests

Bonita Smoke Shop’s 18th Anniversary Review and Giveaway

By  | 

We’ve got an exciting review paired with a heck of a little contest sponsored by none other than out good friends at Bonita Smokeshop.
Bonita Smoke Shop 18th

We’ll begin with the review, so you know just what you are going to be getting.

Bonita Smoke Shop 18th

The Good Stuff: Most of you are already aware of Bonita Smokeshop, a great little cigar shop ran by amazing people located in Bonita Springs Florida. For those of you who aren’t, you can visit their site here for more information, or to place an order. They carry just about anything any cigar enthusiast could ask for. Bonita Smokeshop has earned a well respected place in this nations cigar community. Not only are they some of the nicest, most sincere people around, but recently they got rated #9 on Cigarcyclopedia’s National retailer ranking. To celebrate their 18th year anniversary Jackie decided it was time to produce a celebratory blend. She worked on this thoroughly and injected her excitement through onto us. The Bonita Smokeshop 18th anniversary cigar was created by the mind of Jackie and the hands of Willie Herrera of ETB Cigars and his level 9 rollers, trained in the traditional Entubado style of rolling. The Entubado method of rolling each filler leaf into a tube before bunching resulting in a much smoother and effortless draw. The blend starts with an aged Ecuadorian Sumatra Wrapper, bound by Nicaraguan tobacco, encasing Nicaraguan and Dominican filler. For more information visit Bonita’s site.

Size: 6 x 50 – Wrapper: Ecuadorian Sumatra – Binder/Filler: Nicaraguan/Dominican

Bonita Smoke Shop 18th

Prelight: Bonita Smokeshop’s 18th anniversary is a very heavy, beefy little stick. The Ecuadorian wrapper is a beautifully consistent, silky, milky light brown. I always that Ecuadorian wrappers were beautiful but I am always a bit weary as they always seem too delicate and prone to damage, and construction issues. This isn’t the case on any of the samples that I have. The cigar is very firm to the touch, tightly compacted, and has quite a few noticeable veins running the length of the cigar. The 18th anniversary is polished off with a traditional Cuban triple cap. I said it before, but I really don’t see why all manufacturers are triple capping their cigars. The aroma given off by the wrapper supplied me with an abundant compound of spice and tobacco paired with a nutty undertone. The foot of the cigar only escalates the aromas. The cap clipped off with ease using my trusty Palio double bladed cutter. The cold draw was very fluid and left behind a very creamy and sweet tobacco taste with just a hint of spice.

Bonita Smoke Shop 18th

First Smoke: Bonita Smokeshop’s 18th Anniversary lit up with ease using my single flame butane torch lighter. The first flavors I was hit with began with a sweet tobacco that then transitioned off to a very creamy, woodsy flavor, backed by tons of sweet spice, and just enough pepper to tease my lips and the back of my throat. The draw is effortless and produces’ a massive cloud of pleasantly cedar scented smoke. The smoke didn’t linger for too long as its 97 degrees out and I have the ceiling fans on my patio up full blast. The burline is extremely solid and consistent leaving behind a light to medium grey trail of nicely compacted ash. The ash held on for two inches before giving way.

Bonita Smoke Shop 18th

Halfway There: The pepper faded away quickly into the second third of this Bonita Smokeshop 18th Anniversary cigar. The main flavor is this really strong, comforting, woodsy flavor complimented by a creamy and sweet spice and cinnamon. The experience is very relaxing and creamy. I’m not feeling any nicotine at this point. The burnline is still dead even and the draw is plentiful. The retrohale is very pleasant as well adding a nice woodsy prime to the pallet.

Bonita Smoke Shop 18th

Finish: Into the final third the flavor profile hasn’t changed up much. Still smooth woodsy, with a dash of spice. There is really no noticeable harshness built up, nor am I feeling any sort of nic-kick despite the length of this cigar and faster speed in which I smoke at.. This is a smooth, well balanced experience. I never had to relight nor even touch up this cigar. It burned clean all the way though the hour and a half experience.

Bonita Smoke Shop 18th

Overview: All in all, I like to consider myself a maduro guy. I see lighter wrappers and my crappy judgment tends to kick in as I try to convince myself that it not as flavorful as darker wrappers. No idea why I do this, but if this 18th anniversary isn’t a kick to my ego I don’t know what is. Packed with tons of flavor I can honestly say this house blend is in a league of its own.

Pairing: I decided to pair this cigar with my everyday beer. New Belgium’s Fat Tire amber ale. Fat Tire is one of those beers that can pair well with anything. Food, cigars, other beers, yard work, whatever the case may be. The biscuit and nutty flavored beer is the perfect compliment to any mild or medium cigar. This cigar would also pair well with any light wine, black coffee, or apple juice.

Bonita Smoke Shop 18th

And now for the contest:
Casas Fumando and Bonita Smoke Shop will be giving one lucky reader not only a chance to sample the 18th anniversary blend, but a little place to store it as well.

We are giving away 5 of Bonita Smoke Shop’s 18th anniversary cigars and this beautiful 50 count, glass top humidor.

Entering is simple:
There are 3 different ways to enter. Each one counts as 1 entry and a winner will be chosen at random and notified Sunday September 12th. Sorry but this contest is limited to US residents only. Winners must be 18 or over.

1. Sign up for our newsletter. You can find the newsletter sign up on the right side navigation bar. If you are already signed up, consider yourself entered.

2. Leave a Comment on this post. Simply leave a comment on this post. No theme this time, but if you comment on how much you’d like to see Daniel in his infamous fun-manchu I’ll give you a cyber hi-five.

3. Retweet the following message: “Visit Casas Fumando and enter to win a humidor and 5pk of @bonitasmokeshop’s 18th anni. Cigars: http://tinyurl.com/2cpzljl @tonycasas” be sure to include the @tonycasas so I can track the RT’s.

That’s it! We are excited to share these with one lucky reader, so let the games begin!




Tony Casas is a 32 year old Creative Managing/Webdesigning/Craft Beer Drinking Cigar smoker from El Paso, Texas. When he isn't loving his wife he is either sleepy, hungry, or suffering from a headache.

55 Comments

  1. Dalamscius

    August 30, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Thanks to Jackie for offering this great prize up to our readers. I have one of these great looking sticks sitting in my humi. Sounds like a real winner so I’m gonna have to light it up very soon.

    Let’s see those comments and RT’s pour in now!

  2. Matthew

    August 30, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Awesome smoke Tony! And Jackie rules!

    • Tony Casas

      August 30, 2010 at 9:32 am

      Can’t Argue with that!

  3. Wes Althaus

    August 30, 2010 at 9:35 am

    I fall into the same category when I see light wrappers. I would love to test out something that could change my opinion! Plus that humidor would be great since my only humidor doesn’t seal and I am stuck with a Ziplocidor!!! Start the pity party for me now!!!! LOL

  4. marco

    August 30, 2010 at 9:35 am

    I would like to add that my experiences with Bonita’s Smoke Shop have been excellent. They have good prices and demonstrate great customer service. Even once we they got an order wrong they just gave me the cigars they sent me by mistake. Kudos to Jackie and her staff!!

  5. Tony Casas

    August 30, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Wes – Ziplocidor! AWWWW!!! 🙁

    Marco – Sounds like they took great care of you. Stories like yours are common with them, great service!

    Daniel – That cigar would go well with a Fu Manchu.

  6. Andy K

    August 30, 2010 at 9:41 am

    In it too win it.

  7. Gordon Johnson

    August 30, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Great review, Tony. I’ve been wanting to try the Bonita Smoke Shop 18th Anniversary – and your review only strengthens that resolve.

  8. Mike B.

    August 30, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Great review on what sounds like a great cigar. Hope to try one.

  9. Tony Casas

    August 30, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Thanks Gordon, I was quite impressed as I’m sure you will be as well!

  10. Jared

    August 30, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Sounds good! I hear ya with the tendancy towards darker wrappers. Nice to hear good things about a house blend. I know I often skip em or pass em off to someone else. I always assume its not going to be very good. Good to know I was wrong! Thanks Tony!

  11. CigarsThomas

    August 30, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Want to try these cigars………do they come with some of Jackie’s cooking?

  12. tmbryant73

    August 30, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Great review. This sounds like a wonderful morning cigar for me. Jackie is always very knowledgable and helpful in discussions on Twitter and I wish her nothing but the best!

  13. Tony Casas

    August 30, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Jared – Nice to hear from ya bro! I usually do too. This stick is making me second guess passing them up.

    Thomas – We ate all the cooking.

  14. Cliff 'Bigsmokin'

    August 30, 2010 at 10:20 am

    I can’t wait to get my hands on a couple of these… i LOVE everything from Willy over at ETB. Good Cigars… Thanks for the review and for the contest…

  15. Jitzy

    August 30, 2010 at 10:55 am

    These really sound good I may need to order some. Thanks for the review Tony.

  16. Keith1911

    August 30, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Sounds like a great smoke! I may have to try them if I don’t win them. Thanks Jackie & Tony!

  17. Agent 86

    August 30, 2010 at 11:15 am

    These sound nice. Congrats to Bonitas Smokes on 18 years.

  18. J.A.S.

    August 30, 2010 at 11:17 am

    sounds really interesting; will try to get some to try; great review!

  19. Scott Heiser

    August 30, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Nice review Tony! Sounds like a nice morning smoke!

  20. DownInFlames

    August 30, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Very nice review, Tony! Makes me want to try one of these. Thx for the post on Cigarhops.

  21. Rojo Camacho

    August 30, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    lets see the fu-man-chu already!!!!
    thanks for the review and the contest tony!

  22. Carter

    August 30, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Sounds pretty awesome. I’ll have to pick a few up.

  23. John51277

    August 30, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    Nice review. They sound pretty decent for a med-mild smoke! Nice review Mr Houses!!

  24. dtRUMP

    August 30, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    I, too, have a preference for the flavor of maduro smokes, but I do love to be surprised by the flavor of lighter-shaded ones; it doesn’t happen often, but when it does, that’s always a special day!. Thanks for the great review, and for the contest.

  25. Wes T.

    August 30, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Nice review. Looks like something I’d like to try. Thanks for offering up such a nice prize.

  26. Albert

    August 30, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Great review, can’t wait to try one out.

  27. Don gibson

    August 30, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Looking to give the winner a high five. Hopefully that person is me. Great review as always.

  28. TADD

    August 30, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Sounds like a great smoke. Will need to look for these.

  29. Bryan White

    August 30, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Great review and nothing short of what I expected from the coming together of 2 great cigar minds. Willy from ETB and Jackie pairing up on this is a perfect match and the right way to celebrate 18 successful years in business. Tony, you nailed it when you said this house blend is in a league of its own. Congrats Jackie!

  30. Tony Casas

    August 31, 2010 at 6:42 am

    Thanks for all the feedback guys!

    Bryan – Yeah the two tag teamed the hell out of this cigar. Keep your eyes out, my next review is worth the read!

  31. DoogieFresh

    August 31, 2010 at 6:58 am

    Great review! keep on blazing!

  32. JoshK

    August 31, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Everyone should grow a fu-man-chu at least once in their lifetimes. It should be part of getting your man card.

  33. ChrisM

    August 31, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Thanks for the contest!

  34. matt maronna

    September 1, 2010 at 6:22 am

    great review!

  35. Justin

    September 1, 2010 at 6:34 am

    Sounds like a great smoke.

  36. Brian

    September 1, 2010 at 7:03 am

    Nice review, would love a chance (or 3) to win!

  37. John

    September 1, 2010 at 7:04 am

    Looks like a nicely constructed stick. Let’s hope the flavor follows suit.

  38. DaByrdman33

    September 1, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Great review. I agree that Jackie and the Bonita Smoke Shop crew are all fine people. Looking forward to calling them up and possibly giving these a spin. Given how Jackie likes coffee, I’m sure this would be a decent morning coffee cigar.

    I also would like to see Daniel sport the fu-manchu. LOL
    Again, excellent job Tony.

  39. Redbeerd

    September 1, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Im posting with no theme! But i would love to see daniel in his fu-manchu , get a cyber hi-five and win those beautiful cigars! great contest, great generosity and great review from all parties involved!!

  40. Straight Up Cigars

    September 2, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Great giveaway! Love the pictures too… I’m talking about the New Belgium pics not the pics of the fun-manchu.

  41. Trin

    September 2, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Got the newsletter
    tweeted here
    https://twitter.com/AllTheWiser/status/22825846918
    Did someone say Fumanchu???

  42. Ed Chin

    September 2, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    This is an awesome contest. Long ashes to everyone involved!

  43. Danny Principe

    September 3, 2010 at 10:04 am

    Sounds like a winner! Nice review man.

  44. adam andha

    September 4, 2010 at 11:43 am

    WOW, NICE REVIEW . I WANT TO TRY ONE NOW.

  45. dj

    September 8, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Nice mini humi!

  46. ChiefHava

    September 9, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Looking forward to trying these.

  47. Lee

    September 10, 2010 at 6:33 am

    Nice review. Bonita is one of my favorite folks on twitter.

  48. FriedBob

    September 10, 2010 at 9:16 am

    I have to agree, I tend to shun lighter wrappers (not always – beggars can’t be choosers! – but typically)

    This sounds like it would have the type of flavor and strength I enjoy.

  49. Chris Michael Campbell

    September 12, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    I’m dying to try one of these sticks

  50. Dave

    September 12, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Would love to have the humi as mine is full.

  51. jimbobber

    March 23, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    A beefy cigar, huh? That sounds strangely delicious.

  52. mark best

    June 10, 2011 at 7:32 am

    That cigar sounds great would love to try a few.

  53. Gene

    February 27, 2013 at 2:02 pm

    Hi Tony,

    I agree with you in that I’m a sucker for maduro”s. When I stop in at the local B&M, I always go right past the green sticks without a glance. I’ll politely listen to reccomendations about the lighter wrappers, she doesn’t push the point though. She just resolutely asks “what maduro you looking for that day? ” Don’t get me wrong, I do keep some lights in my humy for pass alongs for when I know my Tatuaje’s would be a waste on a a newbie or a colleague who couldn’t tell the difference from a stale Dutch Master.So to prove me wrong, I would really like to try this anniversary Blend. Really !
    Gene

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *